Island Flavored Pork & Pineapple Skewers with Caribbean Cuervo Cocktail

We made these on the grill and they were fantastic! Both the skewers and the drink come from the cookbook “Cocktail Time” by Sandra Lee. You’ve probably seen her on the Food Network, and her thing is semi-homemade food: basically taking a lot of help from the store in the form of spice packets, jarred marinades, frozen foods, etc. I do much of my cooking with fresh ingredients and mostly from scratch. I try to avoid processed food whenever possible. So, when I make her recipes, I sort of re-make them mostly from scratch, while keeping in line with her flavor combinations. I followed this recipe almost exactly, except that she called for sesame-ginger marinade from a bottle. I don’t know what that is and didn’t want to use it, so I just added some grated fresh ginger and a teaspoon of sesame seeds to the rest of the marinade. Enjoy!
Skewers:

Ingredients:

1 lb. pork tenderloin, cut into bite-size portions

1 tsp sesame seeds

2 tsp grated fresh ginger, or ground ginger

1/4 cup chili sauce (I didn’t have any, so I used 3 tbs sweet chili sauce and 1 generous tbs sambal oelek – I recommend being a tad bit more stingy with your sambal, these were pretty hot!)

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup dry sherry

1 Pineapple, cut into bite-size cubes

1 bell pepper, your choice of color, seeded and cut into bite-size squares
8 – 12 wooden skewers, soaked in water for 30 minutes

Directions:

Place pork in a ziplock bag. Combine chili sauce(s), soy sauce, sherry, plus the sesame seeds and ginger in a bowl and stir together. Reserve about 1/2 cup of the marinade. Pour remainder over pork and marinate for 2 hours, or overnight.

Remove pork from marinade and discard that marinade. Heat a grill to medium-high heat. Thread pork, pineapple and pepper onto the skewers. Place skewers on hot oiled grill. Cook for a total of 8 to 12 minutes, or until pork is cooked through. Baste with reserved marinade during the first half of cooking. Serve hot and enjoy!!
Cocktail:
Ingredients:
1 1/2 ounces unsweetened pineapple juice
1 1/2 ounces orange juice
1 ounce tequila
1/2 ounce blue curacao
Orange slice
Directions:
Fill a glass halfway with ice. In a measuring cup, combine all ingredients except the orange slice and stir. Pour into glasses and garnish with orange slices. This will make 1 drink, just double it for two!
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

