French Toast Waffles

This recipe is one I made up after a trip to Paris. They have these delicious, almost crunchy, yet thick and cakey, waffles all over the city. I’m not sure how they make them, but I figure making waffles in a french toast style comes close. 🙂

Ingredients:

2 Waffles, at room temperature

2 eggs

1/4 Cup milk or half-and-half

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Zest of 1 orange

Pinch of salt

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

2 tbs. butter

Directions:
In a shallow bowl (I use a pie plate), whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, zest, salt, and cinnamon. Preheat a non-stick skillet or griddle pan to medium-high heat. Melt butter in skillet. Divide the waffles into quarter pieces, if using a round waffle iron. If using one of the large, square irons that make four square waffles at a time, then divide them into the four small pieces. Soak each piece in the egg mixture. When skillet is hot, transfer waffle to the skillet. Cook about 2-3 minutes per side, until browned and the custard is set. Do not crowd the pan. When each piece is done, transfer to a plate and allow to set up for a minute. Serve immediately with maple syrup.

Note: I’ve never made this recipe with store-bought frozen waffles. It would probably work, but I can’t give any guarantees. I make the waffles in my waffle iron using my favorite pancake and waffle mix. I think this is much better with fluffier waffles that are home-made.
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

